jeremyparnaby

A Higher Calling

In Small Man, Big Shoes on January 12, 2012 at 7:53 pm

I’ve decided to enter 2012 on a bold note. It befits a man of my stature to do something that my peers in other agencies simply wouldn’t dare contemplate. Something so radical, yet so simple, that they’re reduced to a state of incapacity and envy.

I’ve changed my name.

Good God! I hear you cry. How could you Jeremy? People entrust their precious brands to you precisely because you are a living, breathing brand yourself. You know what it’s like to be a Coca-Cola. To be the first name on everyone’s lips. Small iconic car = Mini. Small iconic advertising CEO = Jeremy Parnaby.

But fear not, friends. You should know me better by now. I haven’t thrown little Jeremy out with the bathwater. I’ve improved the unimprovable.

Recently I found myself, not for the first time, compared to Lord Byron, the man famously described as ‘mad, bad and dangerous to know.’ I see you nodding. It’s no coincidence either that I, too, look good in a turban. And, with my polo neck still in place, I’d say I actually trump the great poet.

So from this day forth, call me Jeremy Lord Parnaby. Just like Alfred Lord Tennyson (Byron annoyingly didn’t do the Lord-in-the-middle bit, but we’ll just ignore that).

Expect some swashbuckling romantic verse coming soon to a TV near you. How about Ode to a Heinz Baked Bean for starters?

Leave a comment