jeremyparnaby

The Perfect Client Brief

In Clients, Great Ads, Small Man, Big Ideas, Wannabe CEO on January 3, 2011 at 6:44 pm

Clients pay agencies to give them an outside view, otherwise they’d just do it themselves. That’s why I always demand a blank sheet of paper when clients brief me on a new campaign. Don’t give me pages of industry background, market research and competitor analysis. Quite frankly I don’t have the time to plod through it all. A quick chat’s all that’s needed. Too much information infects the brief with the known, the commonplace, the expected. Surely you can’t be serious, Jeremy? Oh yes. Deadly! I’ve been this brave for a long time now. Brave enough to look clients in the eye (difficult when you’re 5’4″) and tell them not to pollute the creative process with bland inside knowledge. Brave enough to tell clients that they too must be brave (it’s much easier when everyone’s being brave) and trust me to deliver. As I always do.

The best bit is watching their little faces light up when I return a couple of weeks later with the totally unexpected, but totally bang-on. That in a nutshell is why I’m in this business.

  1. Hi Jeremy,

    Well I must say that you are really brave to follow what you really believe in. This quality is very rare these days. Keep up the spirit. We need such genuineness in advertising. Is it possible to see your recent work.

    Cheers!
    Archana

Leave a Reply

